The Gullah Museum is housed in "The Little House," built in 1930 by William Simmons, a former slave.
The museum and its collection of buildings restore, preserve and interpret the Gullah culture that existed on the Hilton Head Island before the bridge was built to the mainland in 1956. Much of the museum is still under restoration and development. The Gullah culture, a blend of African and English cultures that developed during America’s period of slavery, is unique to the Lowcountry South.
The mission of the Gullah Museum of Hilton Head Island is to revive, restore and preserve the Hilton Head Island Gullah history. A historic marker was erected on the site on March 31, 2012.