This church, constructed in 1841, is known for its simplistic beauty and stained glass. It's been called an architectural gem in the heart of the historic district of Ansonborough in downtown Charleston. Well known Charleston architect E. B. White designed the Greek Revival sanctuary. In 1872, the congregation of mostly German speaking people moved to the present sanctuary of St. Matthews Lutheran Church on Marion Square, but many returned to the Ansonborough location to found St. Johannes in 1878. German was the language of the congregation until 1910.