Founded in 1824 as Mount Arial, this planned Utopian community centered around Education and the Church was later named Cokesbury (1834)for Thomas Coke and Francis Asbury, two trail-blazing Methodist bishops. There were once over 300 homes in the area but now days, the community is centered around the former Masonic Female College built in 1854. The main building has been restored and is now on the National Register of Historic Places. The area still boasts a large group of antebellum buildings of which many homes have been restored or renovated. The campus has an incredible of amount of history and needs to be seen to be fully appreciated. The campus is open on Sundays from 2:00-5:00pm. It is also a beautiful place for weddings and parties. come on out and visit this jewel of the upstate.
Visit the Website
210 College DR,
Hodges, SC 29653
Info & Amenities
On SC 246, 8 mi. N. of Greenwood between US 25 & SC 254.
Days and Hours of Operation
Open Sundays from 2:00-5:00PM, April Through November. Also by appointment