As traditional small towns go, Landrum is a Southern classic. Set against the backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains, it lures visitors with its gently rolling hills, scenic horse pastures and a historic downtown lined with restaurants, gift shops and antique stores.
The charming ambiance and community spirit of the town have made it a destination for vacationers looking for a quiet spot in the South Carolina foothills to relax and enjoy beautiful mountain views. In the summer, the town center comes alive with concerts at its historic train depot.
Fall draws fox hunting fans to town beginning Thanksgiving Day with the Blessing of the Hounds, a local tradition for 93 years. The popular event kicks off hunt season for The Tryon Hounds with equestrian pageantry that includes braided horses, the foxhounds and riders dressed in formal hunt attire. For the weekly spring hunts, spectators are welcome to follow the chase by car and meet the masters of the hounds at a post-hunt brunch held at The Red Horse Inn, an award-winning country inn on 200 stunning acres in Landrum’s horse country.
For those who want to explore the area’s natural surroundings, there’s the Palmetto Trail Blue Wall Passage, a 14-mile trek that takes you through town on country roads and sidewalks on its way to the picturesque Lake Lanier. Farther along the way, the trail passes through the Nature Conservancy’s Blue Wall Preserve and the easternmost section of the Blue Ridge Escarpment, offering opportunities for more strenuous hiking and birdwatching in an area designated by the National Audubon Society as an Important Bird Area.
Landrum also has its share of historic sites, among them the train depot on Coleman Street. Now a museum and event space, it was built in 1877 to serve as a passenger station when the railroad was extended to the area from Spartanburg. The town was officially founded several years later and named Landrum in honor of the Reverend John Landrum who donated the four acres for construction of the depot.
Also a favorite with visitors is Campbell’s Covered Bridge, the only remaining covered bridge in the state. Built in 1909 over Beaverdam Creek, the pine board structure now serves as the centerpiece of a passive park that includes the foundations of an old grist mill and home site.
For another fun blast from the past, check out the Silver Springs Filling Station on U.S. Highway 176, located 2.5 miles northwest of downtown Landrum near the South Carolina/North Carolina border. It features an old hand-cranked gas pump, an outhouse behind the building and a “Standard Esso Dealer” sign.